Agua de la Mula (Cretaceous of Argentina)

Where: Neuquén, Argentina (38.4° S, 70.0° W: paleocoordinates 37.9° S, 33.8° W)

• coordinate stated in text

• local area-level geographic resolution

When: Agua de la Mula Member (Agrio Formation), Late/Upper Hauterivian (136.4 - 130.0 Ma)

Environment/lithology: marine; lithified, gray shale and lithified, fine-grained, medium, gray sandstone

• Storm dominated shallow-marine environment with mixed siliciclastic and carbonate sedimentation (Lazo et al 2005).
• Several lithofacies have been identified: laminated dark bluish shales and marls, laminated dark grey shales, grey fine to medium sandstones, dark grey oolitic and bioclastic limestones and heterolithic bedding (lenticular towavy). A detailed description of similar lithofacies can be found in Lazo et al. (2005)

Size class: microfossils

Preservation: soft parts, original sporopollenin

Collection methods: Part of palynological material (Figs. 8-11) is housed in the collection of the Department of Geological Sciences, University of Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Primary reference: M. V. Guler, D. G. Lazo, P.J. Pazos, C. M. Borel, E. G. Ottone, R. V. Tyson, N. Cesaretti and M. B. Aguirre-Urreta. 2012. Palynofacies analysis and palynology of the Agua de la Mula Member (Agrio Formation) in a sequence stratigraphy framework, Lower Cretaceous, Neuquén Basin, Argentina. Cretaceous Research 41:65-81 [C. Jaramillo/J. Moreno]more details

Purpose of describing collection: biostratigraphic analysis

PaleoDB collection 150584: authorized by Carlos Jaramillo, entered by Jessica Moreno on 11.09.2013

Creative Commons license: CC BY (attribution)

Taxonomic list

  - Lycopodiaceae
Retitriletes sp. Pierce 1961
 Sphaerocarpales -
Aequitriradites sp. Delcourt and Sprumont 1955
Nevesisporites radiatus Srivastava 1972
Interulobites intraverrucatus
Mendicodinium sp. Morgenroth 1970
Phoberocysta neocomica Millioud 1969
Lithodinia sp. Eisenack 1935
Occisucysta tentoria Jan du Chene 1986
Spiniferites spp. Mantell 1850
 Gonyaulacales -
Tanyosphaeridium cf. isocalamum Davey and Williams 1969
Tanyosphaeridium magneticum Torricelli 2000
Dingodinium cerviculum Cookson and Eisenack 1958
 Gonyaulacales - Ceratiaceae
Muderongia spp. Cookson and Eisenack 1958
Muderongia staurota Sarjeant 1966
Muderongia cf. siciliana Torricelli 1997
Muderongia cf. pariata Duxbury 1983
Muderongia brachialis Ottone and Pérez 2002
Pseudoceratium sp. Gocht 1957
Pseudoceratium pelliferum Dörhöfer and Davies 1980
 Gonyaulacales - Areoligeraceae
 Gonyaulacales - Gonyaulacaceae
Florentinia sp. Davey and Verdier 1973
Florentinia mantellii Davey and Verdier 1973
Kallosphaeridium sp. de Coninck 1969
Cribroperidinium spp. Neale and Sarjeant 1962
Cribroperidinium edwarsii Cookson and Eisenack 1958
Kiokansium unituberculatum Stover and Evitt 1978
Gonyaulacysta spp. Deflandre 1964
Oligosphaeridium pulcherrimun Davey and Williams 1966
Oligosphaeridium complex Davey and Williams 1966
Systematophora sp. Klement 1960
Scriniodinium sp. Klement 1957
Rhynchodiniopsis sp. Deflandre 1935
Tehamadinium sp. Jan du Chene et al. 1986
Tehamadinium cf. sousensis Jan du Chene 1986
Callaiosphaeridium cf. asymmetricum Clarke and Verdier 1967
Cerbia tabulata
Cerbia tabulata Below 1981