Aquila chrysaetos Linnaeus 1758 (golden eagle)

Aves - Accipitriformes - Accipitridae

Alternative combinations: Aquila chrysaetus, Falco chrysaetos

Full reference: C. Linnaeus. 1758. Systema Naturae per Regna Tria Naturae, Secundum Classes, Ordines, Genera, Species, cum Characteribus, Differentiis, Synonymis, Locis. Editio Decima 1:1-824

Belongs to Aquila according to L. Carrera et al. 2018

See also Bedetti and Pavia 2007, Boule and De Villeneuve 1927, Clements et al. 2017, Howard 1955, Howard 1963, Howard 1969, Parmalee 1958, Salotti et al. 1997, Steadman and Mead 2010, Weesie 1988 and Zelenkov et al. 2008

Sister taxa: Aquila bivia, Aquila corroyi, Aquila dananus, Aquila delphinensis, Aquila edwardsi, Aquila fasciata, Aquila pennatoides, Aquila pliogryps, Aquila sodalis

Subtaxa: Aquila chrysaetos simurgh

View classification


• Quaternary of Egypt (2 collections), France (1), Greece (5), Italy (2), Jordan (1), Mexico (2), Monaco (1), Portugal (1), the Russian Federation (1), United States (14: California, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Maryland, New Mexico, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Wyoming)

• Pliocene of Hungary (1)

Total: 31 collections each including a single occurrence

Show more details

Specimen images are retrieved through the ePANDDA API.

Click image to enlarge. Click to access iDigBio record.